Bela, the finals' collector, will look for another title in Miami

After losing in the final of Santander, Fernando Belasteguin is looking for his first title of the year in the USA  

Bela, the finals' collector, will look for another title in Miami

For another season, Argentine Fernando Belasteguín takes on the challenge of defending his top spot in world padel. A feat which the legendary player hardly ever lets go of. His been the number one for fifteen years and holds an impressive win rate of around 95%. With the current World Padel Tour format, Belasteguín has only lost 14 of his 257 matches.

A stunning record which is just as impressive when it comes to finals and titles. In his 207 titles as a professional, Belasteguín has needed under 247 final appearances. Until his defeat in the final of the Santander Open against Paquito Navarro and Sanyo Gutiérrezand without counting injuries, Bela had never lost in a final alongside Pablo Lima. Before this, the Argentine had reached 24 finals with the Brazilian and to find his last defeat in a final you have to go back to December of 2014 when Sanyo Gutiérrez and Máxi Sánchez defeated Bela and Juan Martín Díaz in the final of the Master Final. A record that talks volumes about the competitiveness of this duo and Belasteguín's ability in finals.

Being the youngest player to become the world number one (22 years old) or conserving the longest unbeaten streak in the history of padel alongside Juan Martín Díaz (the only pairing in history to have gone a year without losing, winning 22 tournaments in a row from September of 2005 to May of 2007) doesn't seem to be enough for the brave Argentine.

Miami will be the scene for Bela and Lima's return to action and after winning 12 titles in 2016 they will look to add another trophy at the Miami Padel Masters. A new terrain for padel and another trophy to try and add to a legendary collection. It's time to observe the reaction of the world's best pairing in the last few years


Más noticias

Main Partner

Premium Sponsors

Official Sponsors